Tour: Assemble Head In Sunburst Sound

Tee Pee Records is hands down my favorite label of 2009 with a number of droney/stonergaze rock releases. Assemble Head in Sunburst Sound is one of the standouts on the label – influences ranging from Spiritualized to the Byrds to Pink Floyd – and the band is teaming up the like-minded (non-Tee Pee) band Sleepy Sun for a 3-week run across the U.S.

DOWNLOAD: Assemble Head in Sunburst Sound – “Clive and Lyre”
DOWNLOAD: Assemble Head in Sunburst Sound – “The Slumbering Ones”

Dates
Thu 9/17/09 Jerky’s Live Music Hall Providence RI
Fri 9/18/09 The Monkey House Burlington VT
Sat 9/19/09 Il Motore Montreal QC
Mon 9/21/09 Drake Hotel Toronto ON
Tue 9/22/09 Call the Office London ON
Wed 9/23/09 Casbah Hamilton ON
Thu 9/24/09 Mohawk Place Buffalo NY
Fri 9/25/09 Cafe Bourbon Street Columbus OH
Sat 9/26/09 Chopin Theater Chicago IL
Sun 9/27/09 Frequency Madison WI
Mon 9/28/09 7th Street Entry Minneapolis MN
Tue 9/29/09 The Picador Iowa City IA
Wed 9/30/09 Lincoln Calling Venue Fest Lincoln NE
Thu 10/1/09 Larimer Lounge Denver CO
Fri 10/2/09 Kilby court Salt Lake City UT
Sat 10/3/09 Neurolux Boise, ID
Sun 10/4/09 Doug Fir Lounge Portland OR

“I Want You Back” – Jackson 5 vs. Discovery

Coincidental timing. Discovery – which is a Vampire Weekend/Ra Ra Riot sideproject – just released it’s debut electro-pop album, LP on July 7. The release, which comes just a few short weeks after Michael Jackson’s death, features a quirky, indie-soul version of the Jackson 5 song “I Want You Back”.

Jackson 5 – “I Want You Back”

Discovery – “I Want You Back”

Free music Friday

Lonely H“Diggin’ a Hole”
Cotton Jones“Gotta Cheer Up”
Throw Me the Statues“Ancestors
These United States“I Want You to Keep Everything”
Hope Sandoval“Blanchard” (This is a ZIP file)
Julian Plenti“Fun That We Have”
The Rural Alberta Advantage“Frank AB”
UUVVWWZ“JapDad”
We All Have Hooks for Hands“Made Up of Tiny Lights”
Mt. St. Helens Vietnam Band“Cheer for Fate”
MEN“Off Our Backs” (Download from Sendspace)
Cory Chisel & The Wandering Sons“Born Again” (Download file)